University of Canterbury

University Colleges and Facilities
(Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand)

The University of Canterbury is divided into five colleges and a school. Smaller schools are organised under each college, but as the School of Law is not part of a college and functions independently with its own administrative structure, it is listed at the same level as the Colleges. The six divisions are as follows:
  • College of Arts
  • College of Business and Economics
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Science
  • School of Law
  • Christchurch College of Education (CCE)

    • College of Arts

      The College of Arts holds the annual Platform Arts Festival, which showcases works by students and faculty and attracts audiences from all over the South Island. It consists of the Faculties of Humanities and Social Sciences and Visual and Performing Arts.

      College of Business and Economics

      The College of Business and Economics includes the Departments of Accountancy, Finance and Information Systems, Economics, and Management. It has one of the largest communities of business academic staff in New Zealand.

      College of Engineering

      This College is home to six research centres focusing on a wide range of topics, from bioengineering to wood technology. It also includes the McDiarmid Institute, where groundbreaking studies on materials and nanotechnology are conducted.

      College of Science

      The College of Science has six academic departments and five field research stations, including one in Africa. It has one of the largest income turnovers in the University, earning over AUD $40 million. Almost 25% of this comes from research funding and publications.

      School of Law

      One of the leading law and legal research schools in New Zealand, the School of Law is one of the few universities to offer undergraduate law programmes to students fresh out of secondary school. It has introduced many specialised courses into the public curriculum, such as Media Law, Antarctic Legal Studies, and Law and Sport.

      Christchurch College of Education

      The Christchurch College of Education has been around for 127 years, and is set to merge with the University of Canterbury in January 2007. It will then become the UC College of Education.

Canterbury University

I'm looking for: